Institute of Classical Studies In this section

The T. B. L. Webster Fellowship was inaugurated in 1999. Professor E. J. Jory (Western Australia) was appointed as the first Webster Fellow. The Fellowship is awarded to scholars from universities outside the UK whose research interests are in ancient theatre and performance and its reception OR in classical art and archaeology. The successful candidate is expected to spend a minimum of six weeks at the Institute and to deliver the Webster Lecture. They will receive an allowance of £5000 toward the cost of travel and accommodation.

A list of previous holders of the Webster Fellowship is available here.

Professor Carol Dougherty (Wellesley College) will take up her Fellowship in May 2022.

Professor Johanna Hanink (Brown University) will take up her Fellowship at a future point.

The next Fellowship competition has been suspended because of the COVID-19 pandemic. We look forward to holding the next competition and to welcoming a new Fellow as soon as public health conditions allow.