Institute of Classical Studies In this section

The Dorothy Tarrant Fellowship is a recently inaugurated fellowship, set up to commemorate the contribution of a pioneering figure in UK classics. The Fellowship is awarded to scholars from universities outside the UK with research interests in any field of classical studies. The successful candidate is expected to spend a minimum of six weeks at the Institute and to deliver the Tarrant Lecture. They will receive an allowance of £5000 toward the cost of travel and accommodation.

A list of previous holders of the Dorothy Tarrant Fellowship is available here.

Professor Johannes Baltussen (University of Adelaide) will be taking up his Fellowship in January-February 2023..

It is hoped that Professor Ann Brysbaert (Leiden University) and Professor Judith Evans-Grubbs (Emory University) will take up their Fellowships at a future point.

The next Fellowship competition was suspended because of the COVID-19 pandemic. We look forward to holding the next competition in due course.