Award & Prizes

The Michael Ventris Award for Mycenaean Studies (2021)

Michael VentrisThe Michael Ventris Memorial Fund was founded in 1957 in appreciation of his contribution to the fields of Mycenaean civilization and architecture. The Trustees of the Fund offer an annual award of up to £2,000 to a junior scholar for research into Mycenaean studies or kindred subjects: (1) Linear B and other Bronze Age scripts of the Aegean and Cyprus, and their historical and cultural connections and (2) all other aspects of the Bronze Age of the Aegean and Cyprus. It is intended that the Award should support a specific project, which may be part of a continuing programme of post-doctoral research. The Award is open to applicants from all countries who have completed their doctorate within the past eight years. Applications are also accepted from postgraduate students who are about to complete their doctorate, although the Award is not intended to fund doctoral research per se.

Applicants should give particulars of their qualifications and academic record, and should outline the work they intend to pursue in the event of the Award being made to them, including projected costs. These costs should not normally include payments to third parties or the purchase of new equipment unless the applicant can justify these as essential to their research project. Applications should not exceed 6 single-sided pages (A4). They should be submitted by email, ideally as a PDF attachment. 

Applicants must also supply the names and addresses of two referees, and, at the same time, ask the referees to write independently in support of their application.

Applications and references must reach the Classics Manager, Valerie James, Institute of Classical Studies, Senate House, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU not later than 1 February 2021.

The Award will be made by an Advisory Committee appointed by the Institute of Classical Studies. Payment will be in one single sum in April each year. The Committee reserves the right to make no Award in any given year or to invite a scholar to hold the Award in a particular year. If sufficient money is available, the Committee may from time to time make small grants from the Fund. The successful Michael Ventris candidate will be required to submit a written report to the Advisory Committee on the work that the Award has enabled him or her to complete. He or she may be invited to make a public presentation of the results at the Institute of Classical Studies.

The fund remains open for contributions which may be sent to the following address:
Institute of Classical Studies, Senate House Malet Street, London, WC1E 7HU
Cheques should be made payable to the University of London.

A list of winners of the award can be found here.

George Grote Prize in Ancient History

George GroteThe George Grote Prize in Ancient History is offered every year by the Institute of Classical Studies from the fund bequeathed by the late Professor V. L. Ehrenberg. The Prize of £3000 will be awarded for an original and hitherto unpublished study on a topic in ancient history, preferably Greek or Hellenistic history. Ancient history may be taken to include related topics in historiography, archaeology and art history. If in doubt about the suitability of a topic, please consult the Chair.

The prize is open to current research students of the University of London who have completed no more than four years of full-time research (or the part-time equivalent) by 31 August of the current calendar year. Previous winners of the prize may not enter again. Nor may candidates submit the same piece of work more than twice. Entries will be judged by the George Grote Prize Committee, made up of teachers of ancient history within the University of London.

Candidates are asked to submit one chapter of their MPhil or PhD thesis (up to a maximum of 10,000 words including footnotes but excluding bibliography) and an abstract of the thesis in progress. Before entering, all candidates must consult their supervisor about the appropriateness of their entry, and every entry must be accompanied by the supervisor’s signed approval.

Entries (in the form of electronic attachment, preferably in PDF format) should arrive no later than 4pm on Friday 18 December 2020 to: Greg Woolf, Institute of Classical Studies, The winner will be announced in March.

Prof. Greg Woolf
Chair, George Grote Prize Committee

Society of Dilettanti

Please note that no awards will be made for 2021 in the light of the continuing pandemic

Through the generosity of Lord Normanby, the Society of Dilettanti is in normal circumstances able to offer annual awards for students of Classical Studies at a UK University for visiting classical sites and museums in Greece, Italy or the Eastern Mediterranean. The intention is that this should provide an opportunity for those who would not otherwise be able to travel to see and experience at first hand works of Classical art and architecture. Appropriate candidates would be undergraduates planning an independent visit to the Mediterranean in the summer vacation. Those who have received an award from this scheme in the past are unlikely to be successful on a second application.

Scholarships are expected to be £1,000. Applicants should give a brief account of their academic career and status, and provide a statement (roughly 500 words) of their reasons for applying, indicating the dates when the travel is planned and how the scholarship would be used.

Applications must not exceed four A4 pages, including the CV and description of proposed travel, and should be sent in PDF format.

Candidates should send their applications by email to the Manager of the  Institute of Classical Studies At the same time they should invite two academic referees to e-mail the Classics Manager on their behalf. No awards will  be made for 2021.

Successful candidates will be asked to submit a brief report on their travels to the awarding Committee.